Feelin' Crafty

Mankind

weeping

“I love mankind; it’s people I can’t stand.” -Charles Schultz

Way back in the day the majority of the photos I was taking were in cemeteries. While I continue to be fascinated by the way we remember the dead I have branched out in my subject matter, except for one area. I remember someone commenting on one of my headstone photos asking why I didn’t take pictures of the living. (Never mind that I read it as “why don’t you take pictures FOR a living”.) The truth is I don’t like people enough to want to take pictures of them. This surprises some people since I am around people a lot. 20+ years of working customer service is enough to make anyone a little jaded and tired.  People as a photographic subject requires that you get around their insecurities enough to get the photo that is in your head. I don’t have that sort of patience. Heck, I don’t like having MY photo taken. In fact most of my most recent ones have me with a camera in front of my face.

waiting

As someone who puts their art out in to the world I find it funny how often people tell me how to do it. “Oh, you should take pictures of X.” Thanks, but I don’t want to take pictures of that. Yes, I know I could sell more if I did, but it doesn’t interest me, appreciate the thought though. It goes on and on. I don’t go to your job and say, “You know, if you changed the order you did this in you would save time.” It is nice that you want to make me more money, but I have to enjoy what I am making more than the financial benefits of the making.

Okay, this post is a little grumpier than I wanted it to be, I really need Spring to get here so I can be outside and clear my head.

3 responses

  1. I love this. If you’re any sort of artsy creator or entrepreneur, everyone immediately looks at what you do and tries to figure out how they can tell you how to improve it. I write copy for a living and a lot of people don’t see what I write since it’s just ads, but the “advice” I get about my blog is mind blowing. No, I don’t want two sidebars. No, I don’t want to spend an extra 10 minutes on a post making shorter paragraphs because you think it looks bad. No, I don’t want to swear less. No, I don’t want to add a picture at the top of every post because sometimes a picture isn’t relevant and I don’t feel like searching for one!

    The best artists are the artists that ignore everybody else. 🙂

    March 8, 2011 at 9:13 am

    • That is awesome. I started telling people if they wanted to go take the photo I could make it into a magnet/coaster/mirror or whatever they wanted. They lose interest then. Maybe tell them to write their own blog and set it up in whatever format they like.

      March 8, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  2. That’s the spirit. Like Ricky said “you can’t please everyone got to please yourself…”

    March 8, 2011 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

