Feelin' Crafty

Fall Harvest

Pumpkin Pile

Autumn is my favorite season. I love the colors, the smells, the air. Fresh Apple Cider and donuts have to be one of the best things on earth. One wouldn’t think that 15 miles would make a difference, but in Michigan it is enough to go from a nice sized college town to farm country. I pass by several Farm Stands/Shops on my way home from work. Often I neglect to stop at these stands because I just don’t tend to cook and the food goes to waste. One of my goals is to start cooking more…. I am not going to go crazy, but maybe once or twice a week to start.

Alexander

So, yesterday I stopped by Alexander’s to check it out. They have bins and bins of pumpkins and other produce.

Albino pumpkin pile

Gourds make me laugh… they are so bumpy and misshaped.

Gourds

Very Large Gourds

Squash is just fun to say…

Striped Squash

I didn’t get any pumpkins yesterday, though I might go to a U Pick place next weekend to get one. There were tons of jellies and jams that I want to go back and pick up. I walked away with a couple varieties of plums and a box of ginger chew cookies. More produce next time… and I won’t let it go to waste.

One response

  1. sunny

    I love those purple/green pumpkins!

    September 21, 2010 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

