Feelin' Crafty

Books to Inspire

Stack o books

Yesterday I promised you a list of some of the books I find inspiring. Over the years the books art books I hold on to changes, but there are some core books that have remained.

Nick Bantock

Nick Bantock’s books have been with me since the early 90’s. I loved the act of taking a letter of an envelope. Fantastic story and amazing art. They just make me happy.

Journey

The “Journey is the Destination” is another book that I keep going back to. I am always moved when I look through the pages and I wonder what Dan Eldon could have accomplished had he lived.

Lab books

I love this series. It has a series of labs to help you try. It has easy to read instructions and great pictures. What is also nice is it gives ideas for things you can try. The Drawing book is by Carla Sonheim is a fellow Etsy artist. I have one of her prints in my craft room. She offers a Silly Workshop that sounds like it would be a lot of fun.

Muppet

How can you go wrong with the Muppets? I often have a couple kid craft books handy to fall back on if I can’t find my creative muse. I like them because they encourage you to be let loose and be messy.

Writing

I also have a few writing books on hand too because sometimes you just have to mix it up. Technically the Observation Deck isn’t a book, but put it in the same category.

Tomorrow I will be back with some of my favorite inspirational websites.

3 responses

  1. You’ve got a sweet collection here, Kate. I have a Carla Sonheim patch on my denim jacket! 🙂 She rocks!

    August 26, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  2. I LOVE Nick Bantock! Do you have his Urgent 2nd Class book? Pretty awesome stuff.

    September 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

    • I don’t have it, but I did get it from the library. And it is on my wishlist for next time someone I love gets me a gift certificate. 😀

      September 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

