Feelin' Crafty

Easy Street

Reading some of my favorite blogs yesterday I noticed several postings about organizing craft spaces. I was in awe of how beautiful some of these spaces were. So, last night I spent a good chunk of the evening  sorting through the craziness that is my craft room. It is difficult when you are dealing with lots of little things like I am.   You have to think ahead about how you are going to search for something. If you break down things too much it as much as a problem as if you didn’t break them down enough.

When I moved in to this apartment back in August I was very excited to have a dedicated craft room. Of course as I moved stuff in I realized the room was smaller than I had thought.  I am lucky enough to have a number of closets, 2 with lots of shelves, but as with most crafters I know, I could use an extra closet or 10. Right now the room is just kind of blah. I have big plans, but it may take awhile. I will keep you posted.

4 responses

  1. I love organized craft spaces. Unfortunately mine doesn’t ever stay that way for long! 🙂 Good luck with your new space!

    January 15, 2010 at 8:39 am

  2. Oh…I so envy the organized crafter. I can not create unless there is chaos. I need to spot something in the periphery…y’know that something that I didn’t know I needed until I saw it. Same with my writing, there’s music playing, cats fighting, index cards strewn about…ugh. I look forward to seeing your crafting nook in all of its organized splendor!

    January 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    • I can understand that and in away I am the same, but I need to reign in the chaos a bit. I had no clear spaces and was unable to find my basic tools. It wasn’t pretty. A lot of the storage things I use are open so I will still be able to look around an find things I didn’t know I needed. 🙂

      January 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

  3. I love having a creating space but I hate organizing it and trying to find good ways to organize it. Many times I end up buying boxes or racks that I think will do the trick and end up just adding to the chaos lol! Can’t wait to see more of your space!

    January 16, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

