Feelin' Crafty

Open Letter to Target

Hello. I have to start off by saying I love Target. It is one of my favorite places to shop. I become happier just walking through the door. But recently I have come to the conclusion that my love isn’t returned. I walk through the clothing aisles and see lots of cute items, but when I look for the Plus Sized section I see it crammed in to the corner behind Maternity. The selection is minimal, and if I find something I think is cute 9 times out of 10 it is actually Maternity and not Plus Sized. Is it that you hate fat girls? Or is that your designers hate us? I can’t figure it out. Women on average are a size 12-14 and most of your clothes stop at that point (even if they say XL, they are not). I know that stores have a limited amount of floor space, but I think a little more could be devoted to the big girls. Even in the Intimates section it is difficult to find anything that fits someone more than a size 12. I know a number of plus sized girls, myself included, who would love to buy their clothes from you, but are unable to find anything. Target is alienating a sizable percentage of their shoppers. Big girls need clothes too and where I live togas are not an option.

Thanks,
Kate

5 responses

  1. It seems that the majority of us are plus size and to be plus size and pregnant it is really a challenge to find fashionable clothes. I found http://www.newmommyteesandjeans.com really caters to the plus size pregnant woman with stylish maternity clothes.

    May 27, 2009 at 6:54 pm

  2. I noticed the same thing just the other day at Target. Fashion Bug on the other hand has half of the store devoted to larger sizes.

    May 31, 2009 at 7:42 pm

  3. I know what you mean !

    June 2, 2009 at 8:11 pm

  4. As a big girl, every time I’m in Target, I want to go to the Manager and say..”I came to buy something for myself to wear,,since your store doesn’t care about me, I’m going to go spend my money at Fashion Bug instead.”

    June 8, 2009 at 7:43 am

  5. Carol Kapustka

    Here Here… big girls UNITE

    November 15, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

