Feelin' Crafty

I believe

I love the NPR feature This I Believe.  I find it fascinating what people choose to do their essay on, even if I don’t always agree with them. Today I heard a 7 year old give a list of 30 things he believed in (down from the 100 he wrote for a class project) and got me to thinking what do I believe in? So here are a few things I came up with.

  • I believe in the power of laughter
  • I believe that we need to not be so hard on ourselves
  • I believe in the importance of not taking yourself too seriously
  • I believe that there is beauty to be found in flaws
  • I believe that it is okay to cry
  • I believe getting your hands dirty makes you a better person
  • I believe we need to daydream more
  • I believe that it is okay to fail
  • I believe that it is okay to go against the grain if you want
  • I believe that we need to do things outside our comfort zone on a regular basis
  • I believe if you want to sing do it, even if you aren’t any good
  • I believe that we need more Muppets and Dolly Parton in the world
  • I believe we need to walk more
  • I believe that unplugging once in awhile is good for us and should be done regularly
  • I believe that our friends keep us sane and on the right path so we should choose them wisely.
  • I believe that we should sit down and eat with friends and family more often, without the t.v. or other distractions more often
  • I believe that giving your time to help others is important
  • I believe we need to learn to love ourselves, faults and all
  • I believe we need to play more

What do you believe in?

Mr. Roboto

2 responses

  1. I belive whoever made that cardboard man is just plain awesome. We all need to take the time out to do more random acts of creativity. In undergrad, I once wanted to put sporks (yes, sporks. Not forks, not spons, but SPORKS) all over the quad of the tiny geeky university I went to. But alas, no one would join me, and the task seem to daunting to accomplish in a timely manner by myself. Damn those boring people!

    January 21, 2009 at 2:15 pm

  2. I believe many of the same things you do. I’ll add another to the list: I believe in learning new things regularly to keep my mind alert.

    January 21, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

