Feelin' Crafty

Hold me back!

I have a small addiction to office supplies. Over the years I have collected pens, paper tablets, envelopes and paper clips. I never even used a portion of what I horded, but the joy was in the having. I have tried to step away from the Staples and Office Maxs, it hasn’t been easy. Luckily I have many who friends who suffer from this affliction so we can support each other in our quest to break the habit.

This week though I had a set back. I needed some packing tape so I could finish sending out some orders. I stopped by Kroger because a) it was close b) I had seen the tape in the holiday aisle so I hoped it was on sale. When I got there it didn’t appear to be any cheaper so I just picked up one roll. I went to the U scan and was quite shocked to see that instead of $4.75 the tape was only $1.20. I went back and picked up a few more rolls right away. And then left the store, ran a few errands, and then came back and got 10 more rolls. And last night I bought 9 rolls. Bringing my total to 24 rolls (1320 yards!). It is a sickness, but I will say that it is really great quality packing tape.

Here are some pics….

All spread out

Stacks

I think there a few rolls left at my Kroger someone stop me from going back. Please

5 responses

  1. hahaha! I love this story. I have the same addiction, but in a milder form than yours, I think. It began many many years ago while in school. I couldn’t wait for summer to end and school to begin because that meant I could shop for SCHOOL SUPPLIES. I would almost wiggle with excitement over being able to get new pens, pencils, notebooks, folders, etc. The rest of my family thought I was crazy, but all the wonderful shiny new supplies made me giddy with happiness.

    January 8, 2009 at 10:40 am

    • School supplies!! My dad taught at a high school and at the end of year they would open up the lockers and dump everything left behind on the floor. I got sooooo much stuff there. Even if they were used it was great. They were big kid supplies.

      January 8, 2009 at 10:44 am

  2. oh god, who doesn’t love school supplies? Even while in grad school I kept picking up pens and notebooks and binders and folders and oh my! And that was for design school and all I really needed were x-acto blades and my laptop! Fortunately my cousins benefited from a giant box of school supplies!

    And stay away from Kroger you packing tape ho’!

    January 8, 2009 at 10:51 am

  3. I’m totally with you on the office supplies but I have always called it a Stationary and writing instrument fetish- despite the fact that it goes way beyond that scope of things LOL!
    You have found a kindred ‘packing tape’ spirit,
    I found some thick glossy durable packing tape at my local dollar store, and I thought I loaded up but I’m about 18 rolls shy of your milestone.
    I think I need to go back to the dollar store.
    Yours DOES look like some quality clear packing tape, I’m so jealous.

    January 8, 2009 at 10:57 am

  4. I hid my addiction for years by buying extra cool stuff for my kids each year. Now that they are all grown and out of the house I can’t hide it any more. I could stay in an office supply store for hours just to see what is there.

    January 8, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Leave a Reply

