Feelin' Crafty

Moving on

My first craft show ever was Art Fair about 5-6 years ago. All I sold was jewelry. I made a ton! I had no idea what to expect or what people would like so I made hundreds and hundreds of earrings, necklaces and bracelets. (I am a bit obsessive, but that is not news.) Years and a diagnosis of Carpal Tunnel later I started adding photography, cards, bowls and other items that appealed to me and weren’t so hard on the hands.

I haven’t really sold my jewelry at the Artisan Market much, mainly because I didn’t have room for it. This Art fair I clearanced out the jewelry, trying to get rid of much as I could. Next year I won’t have any at all which will be strange. Last night instead of working on new bowls I went through all the jewelry supplies and packed them up for a friend. 2 Rubber Maid containers is what I have left. (I once had a how jewelry room!) It is a little bittersweet, but I think it is the right thing to do. I can use the space for paper and other items. But I still remember the year I started making jewelry. I had gotten a free Fire Mountain Gems catalog which stunned me with the amount of supplies it contained. I ordered a small amount and of course did nothing with them. Then months later I found out I had mono so I pulled out the box of beads and started making stuff. From then on I almost always had a bead in hand. So, now 6 years later I am about to be beadless. A very strange feeling indeed.

Breathe

3 responses

  1. Hey Kate,
    My MIL was wondering if you wanted her old records. I have no idea what the titles are, probably older titles since she is in her 60’s. If you are interested I can bring them to Summerfest.

    August 4, 2008 at 9:08 pm

  2. Great photo! Wow that must have taken a lot of will-power to get rid of all of your beads. I can’t imagine.

    August 5, 2008 at 5:45 pm

  3. you are a brave person. getting rid of beads/jewelry would be painful for me. it sounds like being beadless was a healthy decision for you! cheers!

    August 14, 2008 at 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

