Feelin' Crafty

Open House

I just sent out the evite to my annual Jewelry & More open house this morning. I can now start stressing about how much food to make and items to have on hand. Really it is the food that stresses me out.  I make enough for 50. And usually 10-12 show up. I know it comes from the fact that my Grandma K. never had enough food at the holidays. She would make one pan of everyone’s favorite dish… we would have to count out how many people were there so we would have enough slices so everyone could have a piece. I hate that feeling. I would rather have too much.

Here are some of the things I usually offer…

  • Homemade chex mix
  • cheesy potatoes
  • hummus with feta & cucumber
  • cheese & crackers
  • sausage strata
  • torte di zucca (a pumpkin dessert, between a pie and a mousse)
  • assorted candies
  • oatmeal chocolate chip cookies
  • macaroons

And much much more…. great now I am hungry.

3 responses

  1. Sounds yummy! The nice thing about making too much is all the leftovers. No need to cook for days.

    November 9, 2007 at 10:08 am

  2. Sounds delicious! For how long have you been doing the show?

    November 9, 2007 at 2:18 pm

  3. Stella,
    This will be my fifth year… though one year it was at someone else’s house… People go away fat and happy.

    November 9, 2007 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

