Feelin' Crafty

Drenched and depressed

Okay, so the the show on Saturday was a complete and utter bomb. So much so that I took everything home and didn’t go back the next day. Friday night right before I was going to set up my tent the skies opened and it rained for several hours. I finally got the tent up, but none of my actual display. Not a problem, I was able to do that in the morning.  I was a little worried when one of the organizers saying that a lot of artists had signed up in the last week. Not a good sign for an established craft show.

Saturday it rained pretty steadily until 2:30-3. I only had 10-15 people look at my stuff all day. I sold a magnet. One. That was it. $4. Not even enough to pay for the gas to get down there.  The icing was that I forgot my chair at home and had to wait a friend who could bring one to me. I went to tell one of the organizers that I wasn’t going to be returning for the second day. She tried to say it was going to be nice and I would probably do well.  I just couldn’t do it. I ended up going to the Artisan Market in Ann Arbor and ended up having one of my better weeks.

What, besides the rain, went wrong in Jackson? It was the wrong market for my stuff. A lot of the crafts that were there, were one step away from manufactured goods. A lot of it looked pretty poorly made. Of course it was selling, which is always a little frustrating. Also my tent was away from others since the person on one side didn’t show up, and there was no one else on the other side of me.

My friends were impressed I was able to stick it out for the day. In a way I am too, but of course I live in hope.  Hopefully the next one will be better. It has to be.

5 responses

  1. Whoa…had to read this twice b/c I misread “show” in the first sentence as “snow”. Not ready for that just yet!

    August 27, 2007 at 8:02 pm

  2. Ouch. I feel for you. That has happened to me before. It is depressing. Hang in there and better luck next time.

    August 27, 2007 at 9:42 pm

  3. … it sounds like a killer day. I’m keeping my fingers corssed for the next one. Sara x

    August 28, 2007 at 2:52 pm

  4. I have had the same experience. The organizers of a show build it up, but all the crafters are new, meaning the old ones wont come back. I chalk it up to lesson learned and keep searching for the shows you love and do great at. After about 20 shows, I now have 2 that I feel are worth returning. What’s that, a ten percent success rate? I still search on. Good thing we don’t create just for the $$$. squeezes from your summerfest neighbor.

    August 28, 2007 at 5:19 pm

  5. ugh. stupid rain!

    August 29, 2007 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

