Feelin' Crafty

Interesting

One of the hazards of being an artist/crafter who puts their work out to the masses is having people trash it in front of you. My step-mom helped me with a show once and told me “you have to be really strong to do this all the time”. And you do. To hear people say “They want how much for this?” or “I could make this.” even “Huh. ” All of these things a bit demoralizing, but to me they pale in comparison to the word “interesting”. Honestly I would rather have you tell me you think my work is crap than that it is “interesting”.

A friend uses that word all the time for my art and one day I called her on it. I told her she didn’t like it and was trying to be nice. She said no that she just wasn’t sure what to think of the new direction I was going in. I asked that she just say that then. “Interesting” is just a word to fill in when they don’t know what to say. Use the words “unique” or “unusual” or even nothing at all.

I have a pretty thick skin when it comes to these back handed complements that I hear at shows. But once in awhile I just want to toss these people a thesaurus or scream at them. I don’t think either is a good idea, but I let it play out in my head once and feel better for it.

According to flickr this is my most interesting photo

Sorry… couldn’t resist.

k

6 responses

  1. You have great work and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! Sara x

    August 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm

  2. You’re right, ‘interesting’ most definitely doesn’t cut it in the ‘making art’ scene. And I have to agree with you, I would rather someone told me they couldn’t deal, then to give the generic response and have me stick my tongue out at them when they turn their backs.

    August 13, 2007 at 4:12 pm

  3. Aren’t shows brutal sometimes?!! Sigh.

    August 13, 2007 at 11:14 pm

  4. guilty! i think i may have said that about people’s work before… sometimes i may have been being polite about something i was unsure about…other times i may have genuinely found it interesting. sorry!

    August 14, 2007 at 11:50 am

  5. Cathy,
    I have heard from others that say “interesting” isn’t bad decription everywhere. But at least in the Midwest (united states) it is kind of like a slap. I think it is more the inflection of the word than anything else.

    August 14, 2007 at 11:57 am

  6. Thank you for sharing!

    October 5, 2007 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

